The 30 seconds plank challenge

Pranav Purohit
2 min readMar 24, 2019

--

The 30 seconds plank challenge.

30… 29… 28…

Panting heavily after a rigorous run over on a treadmill, I was determined to take up another challenge.

The thirty seconds plank challenge.

While unfurling the gym mat, I set the timer to 45 seconds, for I was quite optimistic to take the challenge to a new height which was never accomplished by me.

I fixed my forearms as a buttress on the mat for my bulky body and began the timer.

By the 15th second, I was already feeling the heat, the heat crumbling my cozy comfort accustomed to belly fat.

Now to plunge myself further into the challenge I had two prerogatives available to me.

Aggression.

For aggression is often associated with machoism, it would have helped me sustain the monstrosity that was forcing me to succumb on the mat. Yet it certainly wasn’t the ninja technique. The more I put on aggression the more my muscles tend to expend energy and were getting tired.

Evidently, the idea of machoism didn’t linger on me any further.

More than being cantankerous about my near defeat, I was being astonished. I was being in the latter emotional state due to the fact that personally I never aspired to be such a person who is embodied with aggression whenever put into dire situations of life.

So it was here that I recalled in retrospect.

The alternative.

My second prerogative.

Relishing the childhood memories…

Despite every circumstance, every incomplete childhood desire, and every unknown facet of life which were yet to be discovered; it was the phase of life which had transformed me.

Artists define the term “beauty” with the help of various art forms. But for me, beauty has always been hidden in that part of life which can never be forgotten, which changes you completely once and for all. It certainly has to be childhood.

Reminiscing every twilight and the following dawn during childhood, gave me an utter sense of warmth and strength.

Making no further delay, I swiftly switched to this alternative prerogative.

While my buttress of forearms was near to the state of collapsing, I started to bluff my mind with a fresh breeze of thoughts which was emanated from my childhood.

Suddenly the crumbling pain went away!

And sooner I also realised that not only I had surpassed my all-time best record for doing planks but also crossed the 60th second on the timer.

And it became my secret recipe for pushing myself beyond my limits. Now whenever I seek motivation to plunge my life ahead, I embark on the journey to discover the hideouts of a genie. And there my only wish would be turning the “crank” back to the good old days.

--

--

Pranav Purohit

All I want is an aphrodisiac which keeps me stoned towards writing.